Nueva Vizcaya, Philippines

Location of Nueva Vizcaya, Philippines

  • 16.4833° N, 121.1500° E – Nueva Vizcaya, Coordinates

The province lies within the heart of Northern Luzon. It is one of the five provinces of Region II and one of the four provinces of Cagayan Valley.

It is geographically located at the southernmost part of the Region and is often referred to as the gateway to Cagayan Valley.

Its coordinates range between 1.5 degrees, 45 minutes and 30 seconds and 16 degree, 41 minutes and 20 seconds and 121 degree, 27 minutes and 6 seconds east longitude.

Approximately 60.21% of the province is mountainous characterized by very steep to steep landform.

25.41% is rolling to moderately steep. 14.38% is gently sloping to undulating and flat to near flat.

Most of teh latter are agricultural areas concentrated in the North Sector. Only the municipality of Ambaguio and some parts of Quezon and Bayombong are considered mountainous in the North. Most of the mountainous areas are found in the South Sector

Located in the island of luzon within the Cagayan Valley (Region II). Nueva Vizcaya is a 2nd Class province. It has 15 Municipalities and 275 barangays.

History of Nueva Vizcaya, Philippines


copied verbatim

“The name was derived from the Spanish province Vizcaya in the Basque Country. The province of Nueva Vizcaya used to be a territory of the vast Cagayan Valley which was once an integral political unit with one governor. In 1839, then-Governor Luis Lardizabal issued an order transforming Nueva Vizcaya into a politico-militar province upon the advice of the alcalde mayor of Cagayan. The order was approved by a Royal Decree on April 10, 1841. The province had its first taste of civil governance in 1902 when it was organized by the Philippine Commission.

The present territory of Nueva Vizcaya was the result of changes emanating from the formal creation of the province of Isabela in May 1865, wherein a great portion of its northern territory was ceded to the newly-born province. In 1908, the organization of the province of Ifugao further reduced the area of Nueva Vizcaya which was forced to give up its northwest territory. The survey executed by the Bureau of Lands in 1914 further caused the diminution of its area and reduced again upon the enactment of the Administrative Code of 1917.

In 1942, Japanese troops occupied Nueva Vizcaya. Filipino and American troops liberated the province in 1945.

In 1971, with the passage of Republic Act No. 6394, Quirino, which was then a sub-province of Nueva Vizcaya, was separated from its mother province and made into a regular province.

Since Nueva Vizcaya’s birth as a province, traces of the culture and customs of its early settlers—the Ilongots (Bugkalot), Igorots, Ifugaos, Isinays, and the Gaddangs—can still be seen. The influx of civilization and the infusion of modern technology to the life stream of the province induced many immigrants from adjacent provinces to migrate to this province.

The history of organized religion in the province of Nueva Vizcaya dates back to the year 1607 when the Dominican Order arrived at the hinterlands of the province to preach their beliefs. It was not until 1609, however, that the first settlement of a religious order was established in the southern half of the province. In 1702, a covenant was erected in Burubur at the foot of the Caraballo mountains in Santa Clara, which is now a barangay of the town of Aritao. It was on this site that the first mass in Nueva Vizcaya was celebrated and the first baptism of a Christian convert was held.

Every last week of May, Nueva Vizcaya celebrates the Ammungan festival (formerly Panagyaman festival), a week-long affair culminating on May 24, the province’s foundation day.”

People of Nueva Vizcaya, Philippines

  • Population of NUEVA VIZCAYA, as of 2020 census: 497,432
  • For 2015 Nueva Vizcaya Population = 452.287
  • For 2010 Nueva Vizcaya Population = 421,355
  • For 2007 Nueva Vizcaya Population = 397,837

Elected Government Officials of Nueva Vizcaya, Philippines

Elected officials of Nueva Vizcaya for the term of 2019-2022
  • Provincial Governor of Nueva Vizcaya: Carlos “Caloy” Mapili Padilla (NP) 115,367
  • Provincial Vice-Governor of Nueva Vizcaya: TOMAS, TAM-AN (NUP) 98,846
  • House Representative of Nueva Vizcaya: CUARESMA, BANTI (NUP) 114,338
  • First District Sangguniang Panlalawigan Provincial Board Members of Nueva Vizcaya:
  1. TIDANG, DELBERT (NP) 51,491
  2. PINAO-AN, ELMA (NP) 50,492
  3. BALGOS, EDU (NUP) 50,072
  5. GALINDEZ, CIRILO (NUP) 36,385
  • Second District Sangguniang Panlalawigan Provincial Board Members of Nueva Vizcaya:
  1. DUMLAO, PAT-PAT (NP) 56,443
  2. SEVILLENA, NESTOR (NP) 50,785
  3. GALIMA, EUNICE (NP) 49,405
  5. CARUB, ROLAND (NUP) 33,461


Last Updated on December 19, 2021

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *